Another Unpopular Opinion post

I can’t be bothered to check which post in the UO “series” this is.  I want to say maybe third or fourth. Sounds right. So, onward!

If you’re not American, this may not mean all that much to you, but I’m going to go ahead and say that we are still a pretty strong force in the western world. For now. For now. And that is important, as you’ll soon see.

We’re going to talk about Revelation chapter 18 today.  Yes, some of you will already be rolling your eyes, but if you disagree, hop off and go read another post or maybe visit another page altogether. Bye! Hope to see you some other time! 👋🏻✌🏻💖🌹

Now, if you’re still here… Yes, I for one (and I am not alone!) believe there is a good case laid for America being Babylon the Great.  A world player of immense power, prestige, and political influence brought to ruin in a single day. And there are two major reasons for that. I’ll get into them in a moment, after another PSA.

Folks, I love debates. I love banter. I love deep, cerebral conversations. But I won’t tolerate disrespect or hate. So if you do disagree with me, we can talk about it. I love to hear differing opinions and perspectives. But I’m not going to argue with you. And again, I won’t tolerate any level of disrespect. So, keep that in mind if you are going to comment on this post. Thanks again! 🌹💖😊

I’ll post a passage or three right here, so you can get a feel for how dire Babylon’s situation is.  It’s not pretty.

‭[1] After this I saw another angel coming down from heaven, having great authority, and the earth was made bright with his glory. [2] And he called out with a mighty voice, “Fallen, fallen is Babylon the great! She has become a dwelling place for demons, a haunt for every unclean spirit, a haunt for every unclean bird, a haunt for every unclean and detestable beast. [3] For all nations have drunk the wine of the passion of her sexual immorality, and the kings of the earth have committed immorality with her, and the merchants of the earth have grown rich from the power of her luxurious living.” [4] Then I heard another voice from heaven saying, “Come out of her, my people, lest you take part in her sins, lest you share in her plagues; [5] for her sins are heaped high as heaven, and God has remembered her iniquities.

Revelation 18:1-5 ESV‬


[9] And the kings of the earth, who committed sexual immorality and lived in luxury with her, will weep and wail over her when they see the smoke of her burning. [10] They will stand far off, in fear of her torment, and say, “Alas! Alas! You great city, you mighty city, Babylon! For in a single hour your judgment has come.” [11] And the merchants of the earth weep and mourn for her, since no one buys their cargo anymore, [12] cargo of gold, silver, jewels, pearls, fine linen, purple cloth, silk, scarlet cloth, all kinds of scented wood, all kinds of articles of ivory, all kinds of articles of costly wood, bronze, iron and marble, [13] cinnamon, spice, incense, myrrh, frankincense, wine, oil, fine flour, wheat, cattle and sheep, horses and chariots, and slaves, that is, human souls.
[15]  The merchants of these wares, who gained wealth from her, will stand far off, in fear of her torment, weeping and mourning aloud, [16] “Alas, alas, for the great city that was clothed in fine linen, in purple and scarlet, adorned with gold, with jewels, and with pearls! [17] For in a single hour all this wealth has been laid waste.” And all shipmasters and seafaring men, sailors and all whose trade is on the sea, stood far off ‭[18] and cried out as they saw the smoke of her burning, “What city was like the great city?”



‭Revelation 18:9-13, 15-18 ESV‬

The first reason I believe America is Babylon is because of our flagrant, proud disregard for the things of God. God has blessed my country so abundantly so far because we were founded largely on Christian principles.  We honored God, set our principles on his Word, and in return he blessed us. For centuries, he’s blessed us.  But not anymore. We are prideful, Godless, brimming with immorality, sin, and greed. And we are proud of it. That’s the terrible thing. We are unrepentant. We are defiant and also hypocritical. We point fingers at others, but say we are just fine. We think this mess we’re promoting to the world is right, pure, and good.  We’re flaunting and prideful, while Yahweh is sitting in his heaven just absolutely aghast. Horrified, saddened, and yes, angry.   He’s full of righteous anger, which is proper. Rightfully so.  After all he’s done for our country, this is how we repay him. Spitting in his face.  Not only have we forsaken Yahweh, but we are proudly, loudly, modelling and promoting debauchery and depravity. The rest of the world is following in our immoral footsteps. And this is only one reason he’s about to judge us.

The other, very simply put, is our relationship, or lack thereof (we see it unfolding in real time), with Israel.  God’s chosen, covenant people. As it says all over Scripture, he is their God, and they are his people.  The apple of his eye. Even now. Now and always. Again, all over the Old Testament, Yahweh repeats, “Whoever blesses you I will bless, and whoever curses you I will curse”.  Our current administration, instead of backing Israel in their efforts of self-preservation, is telling them to back down and let these inhuman terrorists walk all over them. For shame. For. Shame. We deserve what’s coming to us. That’s all I can say. Whatever God has in store, we deserve. It’s not just Trump, guys. I’m not saying he’s a great guy; he might not even be a good guy. But it’s not all his fault. Not by a long shot. 

I’m on my knees daily for my country. I take us to the Lord in prayer all the time. Our president, our congressmen, our military, our law enforcement. Everyone. We all need Jesus. In these last moments of history as we know it, normal life as we know it, we need Jesus. I’m so excited to be going home, home to heaven. But my heart aches, and I am terrified, for those I love that will be left behind. And I’m ready to cry now just thinking about it. But all I can do is go to the Cross. Thank heavens. I can lay everything at the feet of Jesus! And, thanks to his sacrifice, I can throw myself at the throne of grace and let Yahweh, my heavenly Father, embrace me.  The ironclad fact, the overarching fact over all of God’s Word, is that he is in absolute control. Even when I am in dismay, horror, and feel nothing but anger and frustration at the events unfolding around me, I know that God has everything well in hand. Prophecy is coming to pass. The Antichrist is putting the finishing touches on his regime behind the curtain, and Jesus is at the door. He is coming. We’re about to see him face to face, if we know him personally. Do you know him personally? Are you a  “Whosoever”? Read John 3:16. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, so that whosoever believes in him will not perish, but have eternal life.” One can write sermons on every single word of that passage. That’s the only reason we’re not in heaven already! People are coming to him in droves everyday. Hallelujah! 

There is no maximum capacity in heaven; it’s not standing room only. And, even though Scripture says the road to heaven is narrow, there’s going to be quite a few people who are taken in the rapture. The “harpazo”. The snatching away.  Probably a few million. Now, that may seem like nothing in a population of some eight billion, but it’s going to throw the world into a tizzy, to put it mildly. Most eschatology nerds believe the rapture is going to be the tipping point into the tribulation.  And if we see the tribulation unfolding all around us, the stage being set, world events converging, how close is the rapture? A breath away. We are teetering on the edge of oblivion. We can reach out and touch Christ’s sleeve. Pull his hair. That’s how close Jesus is.  His hand is on the knob, and he’s starting to turn it. Please. If you don’t know him personally today, find someone who can help you with that. I can help you with that. I would be honored.  Let me pray for you. I am more than willing to answer your questions. Jesus loves you. He desires you to be with him so much that he died for you. You can’t say that about anybody else. None of us can. Hallelujah. So blessed to belong to him. I pray that you are blessed today, too! 💖🌹✨💖

Leave a comment