Who Could Go For A Cup Of Something Hot? 

I hope all of you are getting used to my recurring themes, an example of which is the focus of this post: hot beverages! I was going to center solely on holiday beverages, but I’ve been introduced to something fairly recently (a year or so ago) that needs attention.

This is perfection, hands down–perhaps the best hot chocolate I have ever had. I need more. (My aunt bought me this for Christmas one year, and I know she reads these! 😉)  I kept the container because I’ve been meaning to pick up more and haven’t gotten around to it. Pretty sure it comes with decadent marshmallows!! Huge suckers, they look like fat snowflakes. Heavenly. 

Another seasonal favorite is apple cider. Yummy! I can taste the spicy warmth now . . . !  😊

iStock

Yes, I must absolutely drink it warm. Hot, actually. Does it need to be spiked? Of course not, but I wouldn’t object! Spiced rum is perfect in there. Not sure what else would suffice, but hey, if anyone has any tried-and-true additions, let me know! 😊

Chai tea is also a fall and winter favorite. Chai is the only tea I’ll put milk in. As much as I adore England, I probably wouldn’t be welcome there for long due to my abhorrent, abnormal tea practices.  Haha! 

Okay, finally–let’s get to it. Rooibos. (Pronounced “roy-boss”.) It’s a plant from the African region manufactured as tea. Decaf, which is great for the sleep challenged, like me. Who’s had it? What do you think? I’ve had at least three varieties, two I went through just within the last few months. Correction: I finished a cranberry blood orange variety (Bentley) maybe 2ish months ago, and I’m working on a pomegranate cherry one currently.  They’re both part of this massive set of sample teas, there’s literally about 10 flavor varieties–black, green, and the two Rooibos.  I fell in love with it when my mother-in-law gave it to me. She is not a tea drinker. Not really into hot beverages at all, unless she’s sick. I think I’ve seen her drink only hot chocolate since I’ve known her (17 years!!), and just twice. Hey, I’ll take it!! I’ll try anything once, especially new teas. 

This behavior of never drinking hot beverages is nigh incomprehensible in my corner of the universe. I drink a bare minimum of one hot beverage a day; usually I do two, a cup each of coffee and tea. It all started with my family’s proclivity for tea–they’re to blame! (See my tea post.)

Back to the rooibos. I go on tangents often–sorry, not sorry. These side roads make my writing all the more interesting, no? The blood orange was divine–I highly recommend it, even if you’ve never had rooibos previously. It’s not a super strong flavor, and the decaf aspect is what keeps me coming back. The pom cherry is good with some lemon. (I add sugar to all my teas and coffee.)

What are your favorite/essential hot beverages, holiday themed or any time? 

Be blessed with a cup and quality conversation, or calm quietness! Enjoy! 💖


Leave a comment